The Common Good Forum & American Spirit Awards


The Common Good Forum is an annual program presenting headline issues and the most important, forward-looking ideas affecting public policy and our lives. We are building a remarkable roster for our annual event, with participants from government, media, business, foreign affairs and tech, as well as public policy activists.

 For the first time the TCG Forum and American Spirit Awards will take place online over Zoom. Icons, leaders, legends and role models from all areas will speak on issues impacting our nation.  Our Forum will focus on three of the defining issues of the 21st century – inequality, climate change, and democracy at home and abroad. 

The American Spirit Awards continue to be an iconic award that is given to those who have experienced and posses the best of the American spirit. During this turbulent time we have seen the very best of the American spirit and are thrilled to honor those who have exhibited such qualities. 



Part 1

Part 2

Part 3


Ray Dalio

Famed investor and philanthropist, Ray Dalio is the Co-Chief Investment Officer and Co-Chairman of Bridgewater Associates. the world’s largest hedge fund, 

Mr. Dalio will receive the American Spirit Award for Business Leadership.



Diplomat, veteran and former U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine, Bill Taylor is vice president, Strategic Stability and Security at the U.S. Institute of Peace. He recently served as chargé d’affaires at the U.S. embassy in Kyiv. During the Arab Spring, he oversaw U.S. assistance and support to Egypt, Tunisia, Libya and Syria. Ambassador Taylor also famously and bravely served a key witness in the Ukraine impeachment inquiry. 

Ambassador Taylor will receive the American Spirit Award for Distinguished Public Service. 


Chelsey Earnest and The Staff of Kirkland’s Life Care Center

Earnest was one of the many nurses, doctors, and other health care workers who risked their lives to save others.  Chelsey volunteered at the Life Care Center and, with their dedicated staff, fought to save the facility’s residents, even as patients and staff too became ill with terrifying speed.

We are proud to award Chelsey Earnest and the brave staff of Kirkland’s Life Care Center with our American Spirit Award for Courageous Service in the Pandemic.


Margaret Hoover and John Allon

Our hosts for the evening, Margaret Hoover, is a journalist, best-selling author, and host of PBS’s Firing Line, Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Daily News, The Daily Beast,, and She is also currently a CNN political contributor. John Avlon is a journalist and political commentator. He is a Senior Political Analyst and anchor at CNN.


Jon Meacham 

Jon Meacham is an american writer, reviewer, historian, presidential biographer, and pulitzer prize-winning author. Meacham has led a life discussing and analyzing leadership on past American presidents and historical events, while providing thoughtful and engaging conversations. He also continues to contribute as a writer for The New York Times Book Review, contributing editor of Time, and has written pieces for The New York Times, The Washington Post, Vanity Fair, and Garden & Gun

Mr. Meacham will be receiving the American Spirit Award for Thought Leadership.


Dr. Neil DeGrasse Tyson

Astrophysicist, planetary scientist, author, and science communicator. Dr. Tyson has been an influential voice surrounding the subjects of astrophysics and aerospace. Additionally, his interests and research has contributed to the fields of cosmology, stellar evolution, galactic astronomy, bulges, and stellar formation.

Dr. Tyson’s work also spreads in the world of filmography as being host for multiple science based shows most notably NOVA, Cosmos, and StarTalk. As well as an abundant of appearances in other documentaries and TV shows.

Dr. Neil DeGrasse Tyson will be presented with the American Spirit Award for Public Integrity. which recognizes Dr. Tyson’s exceptional commitment to honesty, truth, and science. 


Lt. Col (ret.) Alexander Vindman

United States Army Lieutenant Colonel (ret.) Alexander Vindman is a highly decorated service member and former deputy assistant to the president and senior director for European and Russian Affairs for the United States National Security Council (NSC). 

Vindman was brought to national attention after his actions when he testified before the United States Congress regarding the Trump–Ukraine scandal. His testimony provided evidence that resulted in a charge of abuse of power in the impeachment of 45th President Donald Trump.

Mr. Vindman will be receiving the American Spirit Award for Distinguished Public Service. 


Dr. Fiona Hill

Former U.S. National Security Council official, Fiona Hill is a British-American foreign affairs specialist and academic. Hill’s position on the council specialized in Russian and European affairs. Dr. Hill received national attention when she in November 2019 was a witness in the House hearings regarding the impeachment inquiry during the first impeachment of Donald Trump. 

Additionally, Hill also was awarded her Ph.D. in history from Harvard University and currently, is a Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution in Washington.
Dr. Fiona Hill will be receiving the American Spirit Award for Distinguished Public Service.


Ambassador (ret.) Marie Yovanovitch

American diplomat and senior member of the United States Foreign Service. Ambassador Yovanovitch has a remarkable career working as a representative of the United States into countries such as Kyrgyzstan, Armenia, and the Ukraine. Yovanovitch was also a key figure in Trump’s first impeachment trial. 
Ambassador Yovanovitch will be receiving the American Spirit Award for Distinguished Public Service.


Clarissa Ward

Ward accomplished American television journalist and chief international correspondent for CNN. Ward over the years has reported on some of the biggest international events over the past decade. Holding a degree from Yale University, Ward also holds an honorary doctor of letters degree from Middlebury College. 

Before taking on her role for CNN, Ward had formerly worked with CBS News, based in London. As well as previously also being the Moscow-based news correspondent for ABC News.

Clarissa Ward will be receiving the American Spirit Award for Courage for Journalism.


Ken Burns

Ken Burns and his collaborators have produced and directed some of the most acclaimed historical documentaries ever made. A renowned and prolific American filmmaker, Burns is known for using archival footage and photographs in his films, which often showcase major events in U.S. history.

Mr. Burns will be receiving the American Spirit Award for Public Integrity, which highlights his exceptional commitment to honesty, truth, and storytelling. 

Photo Credit:Evan Barlow


(Ret.) Senator Bob Corker

An American businessman and politician the Honorable Bob Corker served as a United States Senator from Tennessee from 2007 to 2019. A member of the Republican Party, he served as Chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee from 2015 to 2019.

Senator Corker will be receiving the American Spirit Award for Public Service.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s